Little Lexx

I joined the Little Lexx (http://littlelexx.net/) forum on November 9th of 2005. To this day, never before or since were there as many users online at the same time in that forum as June 4, 2007, thanks to my presence, and thanks to a handful of other users making me almost as famous as the Lexx actors for awhile. The train wreck was magnificent.

 photo 99.jpg

Years later I have the opportunity to help keep this forum ‘alive’, as it were. Other true fans have been paying out of pocket for years to keep up the domain registration and web hosting, and even rescued the forum from something awhile back that nearly took out the history. I’m not sure what happened and what went into the salvage, but I was grateful to find the forum hadn’t disappeared. It looks a little scantier than it originally did, but thankfully a lot of the archives are still there.

 photo billbored.jpg

As of right now, Little Lexx doesn’t expire again now until 2016. I don’t own the Little Lexx domain. I’m not an admin, and I’m not in charge of anything. I am only a contributor. I’m not interested in using the ‘bored’ to promote myself, and I’m not there to be a superfan. There are plenty more Lexx fans who know a great deal more than I do and have spent a lot more money and time on souvenir acquisitions, attending conventions, and building fan sites. I generally don’t team up with other fans any more to get things done or make things happen, and I suck at stalking the actors. I’ve also been out of touch with other fans for several years. But when 2016 rolls around, I’ll be first in line again to keep that forum paid for.

 photo littlelexx2016.jpg

I just don’t want this forum to disappear. A little over a year ago I gave some deep thought to making a solid commitment to a few things, and Lexx is one of them. Even though I gave away most of my own collection and deleted my original fan sites, which were somewhat prolific, Lexx was part of something very important that was happening in my private life, and I accept now that Lexx is part of me and how I survived some really hard stuff, as bizarre as that sounds to some people.

 photo backupfolder051.jpg

Going forward, Lexx is part of who Janika Banks is. There is much much more to me, and I’m already coming back more prolifically than before with some pretty big projects underway, but Lexx is part of what started it all and will remain part of who I am.

 photo yablo-1.gif

I’m not a nostalgic sort because I’m aspie, not really into contacting people. Most of my previous internet relationships during Lexx years ago came from other fans contacting ~me~. I love fans and I love fandoms, but I’m not going to jump back in there and run any message boards. One of the great mantras “Lexx is dead” (I hear that so often) problematically came about of continual unnecessary board wars, in my opinion, which can be traced historically across several forums, and seems to be a problem more in the United States than anywhere else. I’ve been contacted by fans around the world, literally, asking me (why me???) why this was happening and why I didn’t just go fix it. My answer is 1- it’s not my job, 2- I’m not out to compete with or be better than anyone, 3- why don’t the people asking me do it themselves, and 4- I honestly can’t believe so many people around the entire globe are that afraid of 3 people. I’ve never seen anything like it.

 photo backupfolder313.jpg

While other actors are finding ways to flourish in social media, some of the Lexx actors have disappeared for years and not been very present for the fans. Some are just now finding their feet on facebook and twitter. Fans still have an awful time finding them because meta searching is so dismal. To date, the best way to find Lexx actors is still through loyal fans and their websites, and even those are sadly neglected. You can click on this pic to get to that site.

 photo lexxdomain.jpg

Social media is the future. Want more Lexx? I’m working on making sure you can find more in the search engines. THAT is what *I* do. I’m the only fan in the United States on twitter that I can find actively linking Lexx on a regular basis, besides a random fan here or there tweeting from getglue or whining about netflix. Other long ‘dead’ scifi fandoms have huge representation on twitter. While other fans still link long abandoned Lexx fan sites, I work on creating all new stuff. I don’t just sit around talking on a message board about Lexx. I actively seek out fans on tumblr who think no other Lexx fans exist, I blog about Lexx, I still get new screen shots no one has ever gotten before. Click this pic to follow me on twitter.

 photo lexxtwitter.jpg

Commitment. I know I failed the fans when I dumped all my stuff and walked away. I know I suck for that. But unless I really die this time, it’s not going to happen again, and I just put my money where my mouth is on the Little Lexx forum. Lexx is NOT dead. Lexx is finally merchandising through places like Target, which I used to only dream of. Brand new Lexx is cheaper now than used Lexx in gamer stores, and I know because I bought up all the used Lexx in my region. I had gamer store clerks clearing Lexx merch out of other stores in another state and mailing it to my house so I could give it away as prizes one day. I’ve already given away a complete used Lexx and a complete new Lexx to people who actively attend Lexx watches, even though that was never part of my intention with social media. Still, I did make this offer…

 photo 1000.jpg

A few fans have done Lexx reviews on youtube and still cosplay Lexx at conventions. I’m not a journalist, and although I enjoy digging this stuff up, I don’t consider it my job to link everyone I find. I’m not into salvage like I used to be when I was first horrified that Lexx was disappearing off the internet. My agenda with Lexx is being true to the story and the characters, first and foremost. I’m working on a couple of Lexx projects relating to that. My stuff will come into existence with or without forums and fan sites, but if other fans would like more interaction and more traffic to their own stuff, Little Lexx is still around, and several of us still check it to see if anything new is happening. We would love to see your pictures and youtubes and whatever else you’ve got going as a Lexx fan.

 photo backupfolder016.jpg

Leave a Reply

