inventory

When I worked in retail, food, and hospitality we did year end inventories and audits. Scott’s work does inventory every year too. Just because I no longer get a paycheck doesn’t mean I stopped doing inventories. (I actually started doing farm inventories with my dad as a child.) Every year I do an end of year assessment to see where I’m at, so that I can better see where I am going. I like doing health assessment inventories because they help me make better decisions about dealing with allergies, migraines, and a myriad of other interruptions that slow me down. This really works because it’s way too easy to get into ruts with mediocre medications and sloppy nutrition. All you have to do is ask What was I doing this time last year?, same as you do about money. I think the reason it’s so difficult to stick to New Year’s resolutions is because we don’t really know where we are truly at *right now*, and we’re not sure if we’re any better off than the year before. We know it all got away from us somewhere in there and we slipped back into bad habits and the old routine, and then we feel like we can’t get out of the ruts we’re in because we’re running just to keep up. So it helps to write it down in a few sentences and keep it in a drawer to look back on at the end of next year.

Every year since 2004 I’ve been doing website/blog inventories. It’s fun to see how the traffic comes and goes over time, and it gives me a better idea of what people are looking for and what they like coming back to. I make some of my blogs easy to find, others I tuck away in little corners. This last year I’ve been linking my stuff together for the first time ever, so this will be my first overall look at everything I’ve got open to the public right now (and hopefully my only pre-sales inventory). Some of these don’t have working trackers, some have gone through broken and migrated trackers, and some have had excellent trackers from their beginnings. Because I like watching my numbers, I’m able to keep conservative estimates going about some of the traffic on the blogs that have suffered tracker failures. This inventory is for my own benefit so I can get back to work on my traffic projections since the big Xanga migration this fall, and to help me collect my thoughts because I’ve been neglecting some of my blogs so badly the last few months. Time to get back on track!

If you are not familiar with how trackers work, spam hits are automatically filtered. These are clicks from real people coming through links, search engines, and book marks, and duplicate hits aren’t counted when pages are refreshed or revisited.

I’ll start with my newest blog Arch Heretic.
Total views main blog since Sept 2013- 955 (wordpress tracker)

Top post- Are you a robot? 49 direct views 11-03-13 to 12-27-13 (wordpress tracker)

Oldest blog GrandFortuna’s League of 20,000 Planets
Total views main blog since Sept. 2004- .5+M (very conservative)
Top post- Lexx Index 11,877 direct views 9-06-12 to 9-1-13 (Xanga tracker)

Total views main blog since May 2007- 19,504 (site meter, incomplete)

Top post- shop till you drop survey 5,727 direct views May 2013 to Sept 2013 (Xanga tracker)

Spoonie blog Spaz
Total views main blog since March 2011- 1,429 (blogger tracker)
Top post- Oh no you didn’t… 56 direct views since 9-8-12 (blogger tracker)

note- TheBloggess.com followed me on twitter for that post  

The SyFyDesigns.com forum and blogs have been a joyful experiment in live real time response to tweeting links that soared far beyond that into a search engine bonanza. I’ve been told by several people that forums are dead, but this one certainly saw a lot of real time response traffic for as little as we were doing with it, even without actual feedback on the site itself. It was very useful for testing twitter response, funneling specific traffic, and filling up my time with something useful while other blogs were down. It was also highly visible in search engines and resulted in my highest viewed blog post of all time on any site I’ve ever written for. For purposes here, I am counting only forums and blogs started by me there, regardless of whether I posted prominently in threads started by other people.

Total views on my stuff since I joined in January 2013- 63,492 (internal tracker)

Top post- This is your brain on JJ Abrams 13,850 direct views since 2-15-13 (internal tracker)

I have other blogs that I don’t keep track of traffic on at JanikaBanks and mRpl and probably a few more that I’ve neglected so long that I don’t remember them. Used to have lots more and a multipage gaming site that I built, but I tore all that down.

Now I’m probably supposed to go into some analytics but I got distracted playing some funny twit-addiction games on twitter and then got snowed under 300 hard and fast interactions and now I’m crashing at the end of a long day/week and I’m caring more about a cup of hot chocolate now than number crunching. BUT. If I recall where my projections were this time last year, some of these numbers are blowing me away because I didn’t expect this kind of traffic so quickly and hadn’t intended on the directions most of the heavier traffic has turned me. I’m also seeing that jumping into tying my sites together and spreading myself out across more social media had a big impact on driving traffic. My initial goal was to play with link gaming, drive a little traffic around here and there with link teaser styles. I’m still doing that, but on a more mildly exponential scale.

Looking at the numbers is important, but with the big blog migration going completely out of my control the last 4 months, I’ve been flying blind and I’m still not back up to the tracker support level I was accustomed to. I’ve spent the day looking at all my stuff and now I’m walking away. Maybe in a few more months I can look at it again and see how it’s going.

I made this way back around 2003 or 2004 when I was working retail.

 photo d463103b.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

