Super Bowl 2014

Marking my calendar, Super Bowl is on Groundhog Day this year and kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 pm my time, which is central/Chicago time. This picture clicks to a vacation package if you want to check it out. I’m not being being paid to link it, just wishful thinking.

Super_Bowl_2014

We’ve already got a rack of ribs in the freezer. I might make a coconut pie because that’s the only time all year I make one for some reason, no idea why. I need to make sure Scott has a little pint of Dulce de Leche Haagen-Dazs ice cream tucked in the back of the freezer where he can’t find it before then, Orville Redenbacher’s Movie Theater Butter microwave popcorn on hand, and hopefully some halfway healthy and nutritious finger foods like tortilla chips and salsa. I made the mistake of fixing up a big breakfast last Super Bowl and Scott wound up snacking on junk the rest of the day instead of a good meal later in the afternoon. I’d love to be able to order pizza because the commercials make me drool, but we live too far out of town. Might pick up something fun like premade jalapeno poppers from a deli case.

I usually never care which teams make it to the Super Bowl because for me it’s all about the party. I went through my first Super Bowl live tweet last year AND. IT. WAS. AWESOME. You can still find stashes of fun a few people had the wits to save, like Funniest Super Bowl power outage tweets, and then of course there was real time marketing and fan reaction like Super Bowl blackout quickly spawns social ads & parody Twitter accounts and That was quick: @ SuperBowlLights debuts Twitter account (which I followed immediately). I really love the real time interaction between fans, celebrities, advertisers, and sports industry staff, it’s like the world becomes one big warm fuzzy hug and you’re not just watching a game on TV anymore, you’re PART of something happening across the entire nation and even around the world. Especially when you can tweet HEY, I HAVE OREOS! when you see something like this happen. How Oreo Culture-Jacked The Super Bowl

In the olden days I would go to Super Bowl parties at my mil’s house and wear my Chicago Bears sweatshirt just to be annoying, because she was a hard core Packers fan. Everything in her house was green. That all changed when her golden boy Brett Favre went to the Vikings, which kinda killed the fun because Scott’s a Vikings fan too and I couldn’t be annoying any more. If I had the money I’d buy one of every team’s colors and walk around annoying people all day long everywhere I go. I was in a grocery store one day in my Vikes tee and the bread guy restocking shelves out of his van nagged me about how bad the Vikes were sucking, which I thought was hilarious. More strangers talk to me when I’m wearing football t-shirts than any other kind of t-shirt I wear, including scifi shows. I like it. And it gives me license to give crap back without actually causing trubba, because it’s expected.

Ok, I’ll talk actual football for 5 seconds. I really miss Moss and Culpepper together. Randy Moss is the most beautiful thing that’s ever run around a football field.

All right, enough of that. Super Bowl is ultimately about the commercials moving big money around. Every year around this time I dig up my fave ever commercials and post them somewhere, not necessarily Super Bowl ads. Sorta like psyching up, pre-party.

There are over 20 Geico Caveman commercials, and I don’t think any of the compilations on youtube are complete, but here is one that comes close.

This list could go on for miles, and I’m sure there are people out there worse than me for combing through funny commercials on youtube, so here is the last one, and it cracks me up the most.

2 thoughts on “Super Bowl 2014

Leave a Reply

