stats for Lexx fans, and waving to the U.S. Airforce

Note to stats addicts and Lexx fans- You’re welcome.  

Today is the last day for paid site meter on my Lexx fan blog. Tomorrow my year expires and most of the information I can see right now will drop back off and be lost forever. Since Xanga moved my Lexx blog to new servers at the beginning of this month, and since I still have no freedom to reinsert my tracker html while my original html is still ‘dust’, and since we have no idea if this could take another month or two, I see no sense in paying another $60 on top of the hundreds I’ve already put into going public again as a Lexx fan- actually getting close to saying thousand(s) at this point if we count donating to the Xanga Relaunch. Well, ok, add in the 3-year domain renewal I’m doing this week for the littlelexx.net forum and I can throw the ‘s’ on that thousand. So anyway, today I’m excavating site meter for what stats I can still see.

The very first thing I’m running into is that site meter is still seeing someone hitting the blog every few days.

 photo sitemetergfdetails-erase.jpg 

Remember, the new obliterated page (still the same blog) is on a different server, but it still has the same web address. As soon as all my Xanga html is plugged back into place by the Xanga Team, site meter should be able to see visitors again, and it will start keeping track again even if it’s not still upgraded to premium. If and when my original html work shows back up somehow, maybe I’ll pay for premium again. This is the detailed info I’m getting on that hit, which I’m betting is Xanga support working on ‘settling the dust’ as they keep saying. If that’s not it, I’d sure be curious who is actually still being counted.

 photo sitemetergfdetails1-erase.jpg

Before we go on, remember from a previous post at So, Lexx… that original counts were lost when site meter itself moved to a new facility just as I was resurrecting my Lexx blog last year, so this is the second time in right around 12 months I’ve lost a lot of information on a 9 year old blog. Let’s just laugh this off as a learning experience in keeping one’s self from slipping down the steep slope of arrogance. I’d love to really brag it up, but alas, cheers and let’s move on.

Please note at the bottom of this graphic that while my site meter is still paid for, I can see the last 4000 hits…

 photo sitemeterlocation1-20.jpg

as demonstrated here. After today it goes back down to the most recent 400.

 photo sitemeterlocation4000.jpg

I clicked on number 3,999 and can see this information. I get full IPs with paid site meter, but I’m blocking them out to partial IPs to be nice.

Domain Name patmedia.net  (Network)
IP Address 208.115.206.xxx (Patriot Media and Communications)
ISP Patriot Media and Communications
Location
Continent  : North America
Country  : United States  (Facts)
State  : New Jersey
City  : Bernardsville
Lat/Long  : 40.7262, -74.5949 (Map)
Language English (U.S.)
en-us
Operating System Microsoft WinXP
Browser Internet Explorer 8.0
Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)
Javascript version 1.3
Monitor
Resolution  :  1024 x 768
Color Depth  :  24 bits
Time of Visit   Nov 23 2012 8:36:09 am
Last Page View Nov 23 2012 8:36:23 am
Visit Length 14 seconds
Page Views   5
Referring URL http://www.xanga.com/
Visit Entry Page http://grandfortuna…./767742511/the-lexx/
Visit Exit Page http://grandfortuna….atic.ak.facebook.com
Out Click  
Time Zone UTC-9:00
Visitor’s Time Nov 23 2012 5:36:09 am
Visit Number 2,264

[<<]
  Visitor Path Duration (s)
Referral http://www.xanga.com/ 0
(1) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/767742511/the-lexx/ 6
(2) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/76…in=http://static.ak.facebook.com 3
(3) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/76…in=http://static.ak.facebook.com 2
(4) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/76…in=http://static.ak.facebook.com 3
(5) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/76…in=http://static.ak.facebook.com 0

If I want to see a world map, I can see the last 500 hits on paid site meter. Tomorrow that will drop back down to 50 or 100, I think.

 photo sitemeterworldmap500.jpg

Isn’t that cute?  All the Lexx fans are cute little dots. I can hover over each dot and see more info for location and user

 photo sitemeterworldmaphover.jpg

and if I click the dot I go straight to its detail page, like what I just copied above on number 3,999. I’m thinking about zipping through the 4000 hits tonight and listing all the different countries I see for posterity. If I’m not too tired I’ll add an edit below with that list.

This little dot caught my eye. Big wave to the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado.  If you are interested in knowing more about that, here’s a link –> United States Air Force Academy

 photo sitemeterworldmaphover2.jpg

I was curious what someone from the USAF would be doing on my Lexx blog, so I clicked to get the details page. Please note the search phrase “tv spaceships in meters”. From there you can see this person was referred to my post “How big is the Lexx?” See it for yourself –> How big is the Lexx? | GrandFortuna’s League of 20,000 Planets

Domain Name (Unknown) 
IP Address 140.32.16.x (Naval Ocean Systems Center)
ISP Naval Ocean Systems Center
Location
Continent  : North America
Country  : United States  (Facts)
State  : Colorado
City  : U S A F Academy
Lat/Long  : 39.0107, -104.8669 (Map)
Language English (U.S.)
en-us
Operating System Macintosh WinNT
Browser Safari 1.3
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/28.0.1500.95 Safari/537.36
Javascript version 1.5
Monitor
Resolution  :  1366 x 768
Color Depth  :  32 bits
Time of Visit   Aug 2 2013 1:01:32 am
Last Page View Aug 2 2013 1:01:32 am
Visit Length 0 seconds
Page Views   1
Referring URL http://www.google.co…ust=1375509233467154
Search Engine google.com
Search Words tv spaceships in meters
Visit Entry Page http://grandfortuna….how-big-is-the-lexx/
Visit Exit Page http://grandfortuna….how-big-is-the-lexx/
Out Click  
Time Zone UTC-7:00
Visitor’s Time Aug 2 2013 12:01:32 am
Visit Number 6,103

[<<]  [>>]
  Visitor Path Duration (s)
Referral tv spaceships in meters
http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&r…UVBwMA812uw&ust=1375509233467154
0
(1) http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/771872138/how-big-is-the-lexx/ 0

Sometimes I see dots from our troops overseas, sometimes I see dots from Langley, VA (CIA), but mostly I see lots of cute little random dots. There are a handful of dots that have been hitting my Lexx blog regularly for several years, and by regularly I mean usually weekly, and when I opened it back up to public again, even daily for awhile. Most of the regular dots are in Canada, Russia, France, the UK, but mostly the Los Angeles area, and I’m just going to be really vague and leave it at that. Hello Los Angeles.  If someone out there is thinking about making more Lexx, please remember that I think Bradley James would be awesome to play Thodin if you do backstory –> http://www.syfydesigns.com/showthread.php?341-LEXX-The-Dark-Zone-Stories&p=905&viewfull=1#post905

The funniest dot is United Arab Emirates referring in because of the Lexx phrase “the most powerful weapon of destruction in the two universes”. I used to see that quite a lot.

Back to my Lexx blog stats. I posted these graphs before, but here they are again for fun. Keep in mind these are conservative numbers. I used to use 3 different trackers to catch all the stealth and proxy users. I don’t think site meter is that great, but I love the cute little charts and graphs.

 photo sitemeterpageviewsbargraph.jpg

 photo sitemeterpageviewschart.jpg

I archived the view counts on my Lexx posts before the big Xanga migration. This snip is from the “How big is the Lexx?” which I linked up there.

 photo viewcounthowbigislexx.jpg

 I won’t list them all here, but that and my other top Lexx posts got more hits between them this year than my entire Lexx blog originally got when the show was fresh several years ago. I think this is significant because I keep running into fans who make comments about Lexx being ‘dead’. Um, yeah, in the show the Lexx died, but the show itself is far from dead, obviously. It’s not visibly huge on the internet because it’s not really airing very well anywhere, showing up in spurts now and then on Netflix, finally available in stores and on Amazon, but for a couple of years it seemed like Lexx would go out of print and disappear off the market forever. Here are a few examples of how dead Lexx is. The first one is the Lexx index page.

 photo viewcountslexxindex-1.jpg

 photo viewcountsmakinglexx.jpg

 photo viewcountstimeprophet.jpg

 photo viewcountslexxtee.jpg

Not bad for a ‘dead’ show in only a few months’ time. Worldwide traffic. I honestly didn’t expect this at all. Also, this is why you can’t trust the site meter counts. Check out this list of how many hits these posts got.

 photo sitemeterentrypages.jpg

I know, right, the Lexx index page at the top has less than a tenth of the Xanga count. Go down to the 119 on the link that says wormhole riders. Now look at how many hits Xanga recorded for that post before the move.

 photo viewcountsellen.jpg

I know site meter was stringently only counting those as entry pages in that list, but I’m pretty sure this last one was hit more directly from twitter than anywhere, as me, Holly, Ellen, and the Wormhole Riders were all tweeting it several times over a period of a couple of weeks. So I don’t think site meter catches near what comes in. Funny thing is, Xanga’s internal tracker should have been able to cross reference to site meter, but it rarely did, so Xanga was catching all different hits than site meter. I was able to watch those hits come in every time I tweeted, so I know they weren’t bots. And of course, a number of those hits were the steady fan traffic coming to the main website page or the Lexx index page and then clicking on the title. What’s really convincing for how bad site meter is for actual traffic is a post I made that has nothing to do with Lexx. On that entry page list at 192 hits is Diabetes and Steroid Meds, and this is the count Xanga got by the end of August, with 99% of the hits coming in from search engines, so I’d certainly call that entry page counts.

 photo viewcountsdiabetes.jpg

That’s quite the discrepancy. In case you’re interested in that, here is the link –> http://grandfortuna.xanga.com/2013/02/21/diabetes-and-steroid-meds/ I’m sorry the font color is so horrible now on that since the relaunch, I’m going to have to fix it. But not tonight. Spent my evening fixing the “How big is Lexx?” post. 

Whew, what a long post! Need a brain cleanser after all that? Here’s what I’m listening to right now.

Leave a comment